An increasing number of developing An increasing number of developing countries are expanding their tourist industry. Why do you think it is the case? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Tourism is one of the pillars of most of the country’s GDP. More developing nations are focusing on extending their travel business as it is the most reliable source of income. I believe that the reasons for developing countries to embark on this enterprise are manifold, which is quite a positive development for them. To begin with, the first and foremost reason is foreign money. To elaborate, the economy of any country depends on how much money is being ingested into the system. The visitor spends much currency on hotels, restaurants, and travel, thus inculcating significant earnings into the local system. Secondly, it introduces opportunities and employment for the local community. For any tourist spot, the locals are generally engaged in catering to the needs of travellers like hotel and hospitality domain. For instance, in Goa, the tourist hub of India, 70 per cent of the people’s earnings are dependent on the travel domain. Third, the establishment on the world map. To put more light on it, every country wants to be recognized globally for its cultural and ancestry values, and tourism is the best way to accomplish it as more people will have the opportunity to glance at it. For example, 40 per cent of the public knows about the local traditions of Maldives because of its tourism. I believe that, despite some adverse effects, the tourism industry offers numerous benefits to a country. Among the negative effects, pollution, influences of foreign culture, and the threat of terrorism is often mentioned. However, in this era of globalization, countries cannot shut their doors to foreigners. So the tourism industry is rapidly enhancing, and the government should take advantage of it. In conclusion, developing countries are extending their tourism enterprises because they understand the immense potential and benefits this industry offers. Without any doubt, this is quite a positive development.