In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

More and more people these days are suffering from obesity due to their sedentary lifestyle and as a result, they are becoming less healthy and fit. There are some reasons for this; however, it can be solved provided that appropriate measures are adopted. To begin with, it seems that there are two main causes which cause this problem. Firstly, since technological advancements have made people lazy, they have more tendencies toward doing most of their tasks when they are at home. For example, they can simply pay the bills, shop for groceries, and order food online thus everything is at their fingertips. Moreover, as people are too overwhelmed with their working life trying to earn a good living, they have little time to spend on their physical health. Therefore, they will probably gain some weight and their fitness level also may be reduced to a great extent. Turning to solutions, there are also two fundamental ways that can mitigate this issue. Firstly, employers and governments can subsidise fitness programmes for their staff and citizens. Employers can offer job promotions and pay increments whereas governments could deal with the taxing cuts for the residents only if they pursue a healthy lifestyle. Furthermore, they can work on their eating habits because nowadays, an overwhelming majority of people are more inclined to eat junk food. This means, by laying higher taxes on junk foods and encouraging local communities to support organic and local products, they can motivate people to maintain a well-balanced diet which in turn will help them to keep fit. To conclude, advances in technology and the considerable amount of time spent working may cause harm to public health. Employers and governments should take some useful steps in order to help people participate in sports programmes and pave the way for local people to consume and support their local products.