Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In modern days, even though technology has become sophisticated and these breakthroughs have significantly improved our quality of life, art still exists in various forms such as painting, sculptures, music and dance. While some believe that art provides us inspiration, motivation and direction, others declare that art is just utilized to escape from real life. Although I understand both opinions, I believe the meaning of art depends on the person but it could be more than the interruption. Firstly, art has been treated as an essential tool to learn olden cultures and histories. The works which ancestors left allow us to see how the activities and lifestyles were. For example, Egyptian wall paintings were found inside of pyramids or tombs, and archaeologists clarified the Egyptian hierarchical system and those discoveries have been displayed in museums and accessible to all. While some may be inspired by the unknown facts, others would find no interest or surprise in them. How to receive art depends on individual taste. Secondly, there are many reasons to listen to music. It could be to take a break from work, or to feel excited and encouraged. Some modern singers have attracted millions of people and this phenomenon is beyond the distraction from daily life. For instance, a famous J-pop singer wrote a sad song based on her own experience and these lyrics pulled the audience's heartstrings. Music is the best method for singers to express their feelings hoping sympathy from the audience. Moreover, compulsory education curriculum also indicates that creating a piece of work motivates children to reveal their passions. To conclude, art is indispensable for humanity in terms of learning culture and history. I believe that whether something is considered as art varies from individual to individual.