Some people think that the detailed description of crimes on newspapers and TV has bad consequences, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Among all the controversies triggered by the mass media, perhaps the most common one should be their impact on crime coverage for the public. Some people embrace news on crimes as valuable safety reminders but others warn that they might incite crimes. In my opinion, while certain improvements are essential, restricting reports of this nature in the media should not be considered. Despite the fact that social media today are increasingly used to attract viewers with threatening and exaggerated information about crimes which might create a bit of chaos in the readers’ minds, such reports still play a significant role in promoting local safety and perfecting legal systems. For example, news coverage often reveals crimes that would have otherwise been ignored or concealed from the public and administrators, igniting fierce discussions among local and online communities. This helps voice public concerns and encourages new regulations to be made. This is how the legal system is improved and safety is further secured. Moreover, the conventional belief that coverage of crimes helps alert the public to lurking dangers still holds true in the current internet era. With the advancement of the internet, new forms of crime have emerged, which are completely unfamiliar to ordinary people. Online racketeering is a typical example, where a large amount of money could disappear with just a click on a cell phone or a conversation with strangers through smartphone applications. Unfortunately, these scenarios can change in just a few weeks or months, since criminals constantly come up with new swindles. In such cases, social media can never be too focused on updating crime information. In conclusion, even if reporting on crimes may, to some extent, teach potential criminals, the positive impacts of such reports outweigh the negative impacts, especially in the current fast-changing digital era. However, certain improvements are necessary to ensure that media reports on crimes are accurate, balanced, and do not incite further crimes.