Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A certain number of people believe that children in the school stage should receive fewer assignments from their tutors, whilst others think that homework is an important aspect of pupils’ education and should be encouraged. This essay discusses both opposing views and then gives my own perspective on this matter. On one hand, it is believed by others that giving too much homework to children can be overwhelming and distrustful. Most students after school are also engaged in numerous activities and chores at home such as cleaning their rooms, running errands for their parents, and practicing sports activities. This makes them exhausted at the end of the day and having more school duties given by their teachers is irrelevant to their learning process. For instance, children at school spend around eight hours, therefore, once they are out, their time should be used on other activities. On other hand, homework incentives self-learning skills. Youngsters who are given extra school activities are able to become well-adapted to learning on their own since it requires them to conduct research guided by themselves. Moreover, it helps them to gain more knowledge on the subject or topic of research that is taught in class. For instance, in mathematics, children with extra practice at home, in most cases show better performance around peers that did not receive homework from their teachers. In conclusion, after analysing the two points of view, I think homework should be given to schoolchildren but occasionally, allowing them to also cope with extracurricular activities at home. It could help as well to enhance their learning abilities and promote learning independence and gain deep knowledge on the subject topic. Hence, assignments should be regarded in considerable amounts.