Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, there are more and more cars can be seen on the roads. We have so many traffic problems caused by automobiles. It is a catastrophe and I will discuss this topic in the following paragraphs. To begin with, Taichung, the city I lived in is facing population increase. Hence, they are more and more cars, bikes, scooters, and so on are moving in my city. I am always struggling in a traffic jam when I am heading to my school. Compared to Taichung, Taipei has a good public transportation. In Taipei city, it is convenient to take a subway to reach a place you may want to go. Because the Taipei government built so many lines of subway in their system. Besides, the bus system in Taipei is very great as well. My aunties and uncles are living in Taipei City, and due to the great infrastructure, all of them do not have a car. Unfortunately, in Taichung, we only have one line of MRT in our metro system, and the nearest station is still far away from my home. Thus, we only can go to limited destinations. The buses are very inconvenient if you live in Taichung. I usually need to wait for such a long time to catch a bus. As a result, I believe that people would ride motorbikes by themselves rather than take buses. The more cars driving on the streets the more accidents may happen. It is risky. In my view, using the MRT system is much safer. In a nutshell, I believe that constructing more lines of MRT and bus stations is the best way to solve traffic congestion. I hope the mayor can put the funds into this problem in the near future.