Some people prefer to work on school projects with a group, while others would rather work alone. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to working style in school projects. While it is commonly suggested that teamworking will encourage students better, others believed working by itself is the best way. In my opinion, both sides have their own benefits, and it depends on each project that is suitable them for. On the one hand, it is argued that working with a group will gain soft skills related to communication. The main reason is that by communicating, they can learn from each other’s point of view, and let them think outside a box. It is also possible to say that each member has their own strengths, and the best outcome is from a combination of all these strengths. For instance, in one team, someone will be good at analysis, while the other has a spectacular background in presentation, or the other one tries their best in planning. Another reason is working in a team will increase the ability of critical thinking, which is necessary for 21st-century citizens’ skills. One good illustration, team members need critical thinking to choose a logical idea through debation, and make it practical for their best project result. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that working alone is preferable. People often have this opinion because sometimes, working as a group make weak member depends on well-experienced member. A second point is that they know exactly what they want, and they have to make an effort to hundred cents for their performance, with their own style. A particularly good example here is in some independent graduation projects at my university, I saw numerous pieces of work from my classmates, some people did a fashion magazine, and a travel magazine, while others made a series of Vietnamese traditional music videos, the other one demonstrated their research journal. Indeed, working by itself illustrate their personality well. In conclusion, working in a group or alone is an essential skill during university life. Personally, I tend to believe that students need to learn these sides, to adapt and gain more valuable experiences for their forthcoming careers.