As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the major issues that concern our society today is whether people in power should pay for road systems or whether the owners of vehicles should be responsible for that. Strong arguments exist on both sides, which implies that it is worth examining both points of view before reaching any conclusion. To begin with, in this day and age, it is widely known that the number of vehicles has increased significantly. This issue can have detrimental repercussions on the environment. For this reason, I believe that it would be beneficial if drivers were responsible for paying for road systems. For instance, if people are enforced to pay for some preservation on road systems, they will re-consider the ownership of a car. Hence, there will be fewer vehicles on the roads and the levels of air pollution will be decreased. Also, I think that in this way people can start adopting an alternative way of life by using alternative means of commute. For example, they could start using bikes and electric buses for their transportation. In this way, they do not need to pay something for road systems and they have the opportunity to use this money for other purposes. However, some individuals advocate that the government should pay for road systems, as citizens pay numerous taxes annually. To be more precise, they believe that the government should invest an amount of money for any construction, as well as the preservation of road systems from the taxes which citizens pay. This is the reason why many of them argue that taxes are useful. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that drivers should be responsible for at least the largest amount of money for road systems purposes. Never before have we seen so many vehicles on the roads and I believe that this situation has negative effects on the environment.