The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

It has been two centuries since the first time a car was introduced in 1888. In comparison, in nearly 2000, the number of vehicles was almost 29 million. However, there are a lot of debates about whether the government should start to create an international policy about car ownership in order to control them. In this essay, I tend to agree with this idea and I will explain why. To begin with, the rise in population is the first reason why the limits of purchasing car policy should be made. As long as humans are increasing every day, it is absolutely the growth of car ownership will also increase. For instance, In Indonesia, based on the chart data revealed by the Statistic Agency of Indonesia, it was said that as the population increases, so does the number of cars. Furthermore, uncontrolled vehicle ownership causes the worst problem, which is traffic jams and crowd overload in Indonesia. Moreover, the government not only kept silent about that situation, but they made a rule that personal cars could not enter the central street in Jakarta during rush hour, and it was pretty enough to reduce the traffic. On the other hand, climate change and air pollution are the next reason. Just imagine living on a street full of cars that produce gas emissions, it will be harmful to the world where we live, to the environment, and also to ourselves. In Great Britain actually, there are numerous policies about controlling the behaviour of buying a car, for example, the expensive rate of tax of purchasing a vehicle. This policy is to make the car feel unwanted because the cost is too pricey so society will always choose public transportation or walking instead of purchasing a car. To sum up, I agree with the law to limit car ownership in terms of avoiding the uncontrolled number of cars that can create environmental problems such as climate change and bad air quality. Nevertheless, the policy will not be successful if the folks of the country cannot be cooperative enough to obey. This means it is not only depends on the law, but also on us.