Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Nowadays, children often use smartphones for hours during the day, which becomes a general problem for all families in the whole and we need to consider this case. While I accept that this phenomenon has some drawbacks, I think it is beneficial overall. On the one hand, there are some consequences of spending too much time on smartphones every day for children. Firstly, using smartphones makes children not want to go out to play with their friends anymore, which leads to a lack of practical experiences for children. Recently, there are numerous kinds of entertainment on smartphones which satisfy children ’s interests and make them pay more attention to digital content such as funny videos, games, music or even social media like Facebook, TikTok, etc. Secondly, spending too much time on smartphones lets children escape from exercise and may lead to some diseases like diabetes, high blood pressure, cancer, etc. When enjoying the time on smartphones, children often sit or lie in one place for hours without movement and even refuse to drink or eat on time, which badly affects their development. On the other hand, there are some beneficial sides to spending time on smartphones for children. Getting used to smartphones helps children get more means of study such as learning from a lot of courses online instead of only at school in the past. For example, the influence of smartphones helps children maintain their studies without any obstacles during the quarantine of covid-19 pandemic. Additionally, using smartphones could help children catch up with the technological advancement in modern life easier. Moreover, using smartphones could help children realises which sector they are good at and want to follow in the future. To sum up, children using smartphones every day is the case which adults should pay attention to and I think it is positive if we could overcome difficulties in the first period.