What are the positive impacts of the TV? What are the negative impacts of TV?

Affecting people and communities worldwide, television is in almost every home and has become a significant part of people’s lives today. While TV plays a crucial role in modern society, it brings both positive contributions and negative impacts. In the following paragraph, the dual nature of TV will be explored particularly in children ’s lifestyles. Television is an important part of every child’s life. It is not bad for them if they are exposed to the right program. The positive impacts of television on children include providing educational content, entertainment, relaxation, socialization, exposure to different cultures and inspiration. For example, educational programs can help children to develop their language skills, increase their knowledge and improve their curiosity. In 2021, Martin Seligman, a psychologist at Johns Hopkins University indicated that television improved children ’s academic performance. The kids who watched Robo Animation - a TV program about making simple robots - had achieved better scores in robotic competitions in comparison with the ones who didn’t watch that show. Television also affects children negatively, although there are many positive impacts on their lives. The adverse effects of TV include encouragement of inactivity, negative social development, undesirable behaviour, and consumerism. For example, exposure to too much screen time leads to vision defections. Research by Dr. Nolan at the University of Standford has found a direct link between spending a long time on TV programs and reduced vision in 2 up to 6 age children. Such children suffer from blurry vision which is corrected by wearing glasses. In summary, television has both positive and negative impacts on children. However, in my point of view, the adverse effects seem to outnumber the positive ones. Addiction to watching TV leads to a lot of physical and mental issues, particularly for children as mentioned before.