Some people think the housing shortage in big cities is caused by relevant policies so this problem can be solved by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Few individuals have an opinion that the housing shortage is generated because of the wrong policy adoption. The problem of housing can be solved by the government. In the impending essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion. To begin, the government is responsible for the economic development of its geographical region. Because of this most of the land is marked for industrial purposes. The terrain is allocated to giant corporations to build their offices, factories and development centres. That will always result in rising land prices in the vicinity adjoining the sites of offices., Also the state has to think about housing for the middle and lower-class populations. For instance, In India big cities like Bangalore and Hyderabad received big investments from corporations which result in an expansion of cities., Moreover it generates employment for the local community. Which Gives rise to Housing problems. As people are looking for accommodation. On the other hand, land development policies are dictated by the development agenda. It has resulted in jacking prices of real estate across cities and states. To have proper policies government should address land utilisation. Land valuation should not be allowed to increase beyond a limit by the respective government. To illustrate, In Uk, Housing across London is very expensive as land is occupied by corporations to have their offices. This resulted in a sharp increase in real estate prices and affordable housing is not considered an option To resolve this. land prices across certain vicinities should be capped and allocated for middle and lower-class income groups. To conclude, I am of opinion that government can easily provide a solution to the housing problem by enacting fairer policies addressing the needs of different strata of society. Hence I completely agree with the statement that the housing shortage is caused by relevant government policies.