In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, it is customary for young people to take a gap year in order to work or make trips before starting their academic studies at universities. While this trend offers some advantages in terms of broadening young people's horizons, it squanders our valuable time. To begin with, advocates of taking a year off the claim that this period serves earned family time for those pupils who grew up within the closed boundaries of boarding schools. As students are encouraged to take a job which they have the catalyst for, it is possible for them to excel in their future careers rather than merely aim for good enough. To illustrate, research has shown that students who have determined a clear approach before their scholastic years gained more experience as opposed to their counterparts who did not take growth years. If students reap the benefits of this growth by clarifying their life goals and envisioning their future, not only will they be better prepared for the demanding university life, but it will also be feasible for them to construct a professional career. However, these merits need to be considered in light of the drawbacks, and the most concerning one is fiscal issues. For instance, if a young person wants to go abroad for working, this issue may trigger severe economical ramifications for governments. To make matter worse, it has been proven that people who undergraduates are highly likely to become depressed when they travel overseas before applying to some particular universities. Consequently, this may curtail their happiness, and they cannot acquire skills that they are unfamiliar with; hence, the idea of taking a gap year is a complete waste of time. In conclusion, despite the benefits of going to a foreign country and working before embarking on future academic career for youngsters, we should also take its disadvantages into account: the economic burden and depraved mentality.