Some people believe that preserving the natural environment is crucial, however, most make no effort to do so. Why do you think this is happening? What are some simple actions that could help the environment?

Nowadays, It is widely known that natural resources are depleted and harmed by human behaviour. Although humans acknowledge its seriousness and importance, they are not taking serious actions to solve it. This essay will outline the reason for this phenomenon and provide some simple individual actions to save nature. Despite awareness of and well-perceived environmental problems, many still ignore and neglect such issues because they are not directly affected by the harsh consequences. In fact, more than half of the world's population live in suburban areas and reside and work in high-rise buildings with air-conditioning fully equipped, having a convenient life enough to take global issues for granted. Take Thailand, for example, one recent research reveals that the electricity consumption in one huge department store in Bangkok is twice as much as that of a small province in the southern part of the country. Clearly, metropolitans have enjoyed this superior lifestyle so much that they have made no effort to preserve the environment. On the other hand, to be involved in alleviating environmental problems, an individual can easily start with two main actions. First of all, it is essential to reduce CO2 emissions and greenhouse gases because air pollution is one of the major harms to the environment. Everyone can give the community a hand to travel by other means of public transport instead of cars as fossil fuels from vehicles contribute negative impacts to the air. Another solution is recycling in terms of waste sorting and the use of non-recycled plastics. Currently, many governments have already provided different types of bins for waste management purposes as well as many department stores no longer provide plastic bags. As such, everybody can separate litter before dumping it and bring their own existing bag for shopping. In conclusion, while people have a care in mind to save the world, they take low effort to do so because they do not feel the direct impacts and consequences. However, there are many ways to tackle this problem on an individual level which are using public transport, sorting the waste and using recycled products.