Online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of the Internet and communication technology, an increasing number of consumers are turning to online shopping rather than traditional brick-and-mortar retail. While this trend offers unparalleled convenience, I contend that it has detrimental effects on local entrepreneurs. On the one hand, I am certain that stores being replaced by online shops benefit the public in many ways. Specifically, it is quicker and cheaper to shop online than in-storefronts. By shopping at home, people no longer need to drive for hours and spend on parking, toll tickets, and gas just to get to the nearest malls. By shopping online, people can just stay at home and avoid such unnecessary expenses. In fact, most shopping applications such as Amazon and AliExpress offer not only highly discounted items but also free shipping, which helps consumers save greater costs. On the other hand, I do not deny that online shopping can be absolutely detrimental to local businesses. In particular, with the surge in online buyers, physical stores lose their hard-earned customers and, thereafter, go bankrupt. We have actually seen this trend during this time of pandemic when all business establishments had to shut down and all people must stay at home and shop electronically. The COVID-19 pandemic has truly accelerated the fall of a large group of retailers, who have been fighting for dwindling sales and growing debt over the years. Unfortunately, citizens have become so accustomed to online shopping that they now prefer it over in-person purchases, even as malls have begun to reopen. In conclusion, I concur that online buying replacing shopping in physical stores is both a positive and negative development considering convenience and business bankruptcy, respectively.