Some people say that travel helps us to appreciate other cultures. How true is this statement? Do you think that people who travel a lot appreciate other cultures more than those who stay at home?

Some individuals state that travel assists us in appreciating other cultures. This essay will elaborate on how this statement is true to a certain extent and how people who travel a lot have a tendency to respect other cultures more. It is undeniable that journeys help society to cherish customs else than their own. When people get to see how differently the world functions in certain areas on the planet, they get the chance to understand traditions that might be considered odd to them in a new perspective. They get to see how colourful our planet is and bask in the variety of shades the world provides. Although, going on frequent trips does not guarantee appreciation of other ways of living if the distance travelled is not far from home, because if those who travel only go to places near where they belong, then the community they encounter won' t be much different from the one they are in. It wouldn' t open their eyes to what else this planet has to offer. For instance,if a person lives in Jakarta and makes trips often but only around the inside of Java, and never to other islands in Indonesia, then they won' t understand customs outside of Java. However, it doesn' t mean those who don' t commute don' t appreciate other cultures, for there are many factors that could help them too. For example, if a person were to be raised in a family of mixed traditions, then they would still be able to learn and develop admiration for how those different backgrounds operate. In conclusion, it is true that voyages do help people cherish other cultures, however, it doesn' t mean much if they only ever travel near home and not a far distance. However, individuals who stay where they belong could also learn to respect different customs from factors such as mixed families, even if they don' t travel often or at all.