Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many today believe that social media has an overall negative impact on both average people and society more generally. This essay completely agrees with this viewpoint because these social media sites not only make individuals addicted but also create a cyberbullying culture in the online society. To begin with, social media may affect on the mental health of individual users. Most people spend an excessive amount of time looking at these websites, and this habit distracts us from concentrating on our daily task. For example, many of us spend half of our day chatting with people on Messengers, watching short Tik Tok videos for entertainment, or scrolling all the photos on Instagram. At first, these interesting contents and videos make us feel relaxed and happy; however, if we build up this habit, we will slowly feel depressed because we are gradually ourselves from the real-world interactions and replacing them with virtual platforms. Additionally, the drawbacks of social media are able to create a cyberbullying culture. Since the accounts on most of the online platforms like Facebook, can be registered without their true identities, the bullies can easily create fake accounts to send an unpleasant emails, private messages and public comments toward others. As a result, the victims experience extreme stress because the evil actions harm their reputation and upset their mental. In conclusion, social media is an overwhelming negative for both normal citizens and the entirety of society by isolating individuals from real life and allowing the bad to bully others mentally online.