Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified ? Are there any alternatives ? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

To begin, scientific and medical experimentation on animals has been in practice for a long period of time. According to my point of view, I believe that important findings in the field of medicine and science can be made by experimenting on animals even though there are certain drawbacks as well. First and foremost, conducting tests on live species such as rats, monkeys,dogs and guinea pigs has been there for centuries and people were able to obtain several benefits from it. For an instance, vaccines for Polio, Rubella and even Covid-19 were developed based on the formulas and results received after experimenting on living specimens. Furthermore, amidst some ethical issues this has been benefited the world considerably. Moreover, according to genetic technology, there are some living creatures like monkeys and chimpanzees whose DNA pattern is quite similar to that of humans, making it essential to perform such tests on them. Due to this, with the existing knowledge it has been difficult to find sustainable alternatives for animals. On the other hand, some argue that this is unethical and should be outlawed. When considering us humans only as another animals, it is questionable and problematic to use other species to run some tests even without their consent and mostly they die slowly or face prolonged health issues. As an example, there are certain documentaries where we can see how animals like lab rats or guinea pigs suffer through this. To conclude, even though there are some issues and problems with using living creatures to make important discoveries, its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.