Some people think that local authorities should control where building can be constructed. Others thinks that everyone should be free to build where they like without permission. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often believed that local institutions should manage the town planning process in underdeveloped areas of the city, while others claim that it is unnecessary to put strict restrictions on construction companies. This essay will discuss both views and in the end, I will present my partial opinion. On one hand, some believe that the government should provide rules and guidelines regarding mapping of untouched territories of the city, and encourage local administration to assist in locating the areas where the buildings can be constructed thereby streamlining the process of planning the project for the particular location. For example, the Newsletter of the “National Development Authority” is published every month in which architects share their ideas regarding upcoming construction projects, for this reason, I agree that consultation with local authorities is the best approach for building a new construction. On the other hand, others claim that the government officials are not helpful, and often don’t respond to requests from bidders. This is to say, that people also accuse local authorities of being biased toward their own interests and that they are being bribed through illegal means. Moreover, most of the projects advertised by the government are funded by private companies so that they can take advantage of the public sector. For instance, a survey published by “Dawn magazine” in which the pollster stated that almost 40 to 45% of under-constructed areas of the city are under the control of land mafias backed by real estate tycoons.  In conclusion, I believe that the most effective way to tackle this problem is by reducing the communication gap between the government and private companies which helps to increase productivity by improving the quality of services to consumers.