Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, motorcycles are banned in the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent days have witnessed a frequent occurrence that some cities do not allow people to drive private vehicles to the city centre on specific days called vehicle-free days. Instead, it is advisable to use mass transit these days. While this can pose an inconvenience to some extent, I do believe that its benefits are more outstanding than its drawbacks. On the one hand, without personal vehicles causes some annoyance to citizens. This is because they can not take full control of their moving. For example, in lieu of driving their own car from their home to the office anytime they want, they need to follow the bus schedule, then walk a certain haul to the bus stop and wait for a while. As a consequence, this occasion presents a major concern to some people. Nevertheless, this approach has a profound impact on current issues in society. Firstly, the most noticeable benefit is that it can address the underlying cause of traffic jams. It is obvious that one of the major factors resulting in traffic jams is the large use of private engines like cars and motorbikes. Therefore, if they are abandoned, the traffic situation can be improved. Secondly, this is the first step to establishing the habit of using public transport. More specifically, how to encourage people to use public engines is the subject of increasing concern but people hardly choose this option if they are still allowed to use their own transport. Hence, this occasion marks the start of getting accustomed to public vehicles. In a conclusion, though I admit that some people will not enjoy vehicle-free days due to their shortcomings, there’s a need to plough ahead with this approach. It is undeniable that the benefits it brings to society exceed the inconvenience it may have.