Modern people mostly stay at home rather than going outdoors. What are the reasons for this trend? Is this trend good or bad?

In the modern,era most people like to stay at home rather than go outdoors. The main reason for the above trend may be the development of social media platforms through which people can easily connect with the world. Though there are both pros and cons to the above phenomenon, in my opinion, it has more disadvantages than benefits. Firstly, the current generation doesn't have the necessity to go out to meet others as there are so many other modalities available for them to connect with people. For instance, men and women of all ages have access to social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc. through which they can gather the information they needed and meet men and women from faraway countries. Moreover, there is enough entertainment at home such as television, Netflix, PlayStation, mobile gaming etc. In addition, you can order meals or drinks from home through various delivery apps namely Uber, Pick me, Pizza hut etc. As a result of this, many choose to stay in their rooms and enjoy snacks while watching a movie. Additionally, unlike previous generations, today's young ones don't have the need to go to private classes to attend lectures as most of those are happening online through Zoom. Secondly, the indoor trend has both benefits and bad effects. A safe environment, fewer accidents, a lesser chance of drug or alcohol addiction, risky sexual behaviours and gang culture are some of the good effects of staying indoors. On the other hand, this tradition will make men and women isolated from the rest of the world. They will miss out on all outdoor entertainment namely hanging out with friends, travelling, hiking, playing cricket, going to real football games etc. In addition, staying indoors leads to a sedentary lifestyle, which is harmful to human health as it is associated with an increased risk of developing obesity and heart disease. To give an example, children choose to play PlayStation games rather than play physical sports which leads to isolation and depression. To conclude, even though there are certain advantages to the tradition of staying in rooms, in my view, it has led the public to live an isolated, unhappy and unhealthy life. Therefore, I think it has more negatives than positives.