The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of people?

Along with the rapid development of the global economy, the attraction of cities is more and more visible to the community in every part of the world. As a result, people have the tendency to move to large metropolises to pursue their careers and settle down. That movement causes some problems, including pollution and deterioration of living standards. This essay will point out some issues and propose some feasible solutions for the above topic. The most notable effect of an increasing population in the cities is pollution. To be more specific, it damages the air with smoke and carbon dioxide from vehicles of new citizens which also brings with them noise concerns not only from the streets but also from the dense households. Moreover, the more people, the more disposal is generated which, if cannot be completely solved, will cause a lot of problems to the surrounding area including land, water, etc. The pollution, in the end, will affect the community's health and reduce their quality of life. The second negative effect is the deterioration of living standards in the cities. With the unchanged area of land, more people mean less free area for recreational activities. Populous cities also mean fewer job opportunities and fewer educational opportunities for lower-income groups. Furthermore, the frequency of traffic jams will also increase and more time will be lost on the street which not only affects people ’s morale but also their income. In terms of solutions, overcrowding can be solved by the expansion of the cities toward suburban areas. Buildings and facilities can be relocated out of the city centre to attract more people moving out. The government should also take part in the process to limit pollution by setting regulations on the maximum number of vehicles possessed by a person or encouragement of electric vehicles. Moreover, they can expand and upgrade garbage collection and disposal processes to serve increased demands and at the same time enact regulations to protect the environment. In conclusion, although a crowded city may cause a series of issues with suitable and timely solutions, the prosperity it brings will definitely outweigh the troubles.