More and more business meetings and business training have taken place on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent years have witnessed a trend that an increasing number of conferences and training courses are based on the Internet. From my perspective, it is a positive development, as its merits exceed the demerits. It is undeniable that there are several drawbacks to online business meetings. To begin with, one cannot expect an uninterrupted Internet connection because disconnection is always possible while participating in online meetings. This sort of interruption can reduce the effectiveness of an online meeting. Apart from that, with the absence of proper body language, there are inevitably some misunderstandings in an online meeting. Under such circumstances, speakers might not be capable of conveying their ideas correctly to the audience, thereby negatively affecting the collaboration between colleagues. However, the benefits of participating in online business affairs are much more significant and cannot be underestimated. Firstly, it is really convenient for workers to take part in office gatherings online since they do not need to commute between their houses and the workplace during peak hours. In that case, more available time can be distributed to their preparation for work and the consideration of what they are going to discuss. Secondly, online attendees can avoid office distractions, which are extremely common to be seen in physical meeting rooms. Chances are that people have to socialize with their colleagues for a while, which occupies the previous time that should be allocated to their working content. Nevertheless, they will not be bothered by this issue when attending meetings online. In conclusion, even though online business activities have several shortcomings, I am still adamant that there are more upsides to this development than downsides, for the reason that attending online conferences and training courses is beneficial to employees and they are likely to have better working performances by doing so.