In many countries today, if people want to find work, they have to move away from their friends and their families. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people need to relocate from their hometowns to larger cities to secure a job. This relocation trend provides better opportunities to the unemployed and businesses. However, it also has negative effects on society, as it creates more disparities in terms of income among regions and the cost of relocation can be a heavy burden to the population. I personally believe that the drawbacks far outweigh the benefits. Firstly, when the workforce gathers in the cities, it is inevitable to have high competition in the labour market. Although it is a good scenario for employers to identify excellent employees, it also creates a difference in salary between the urban and rural areas. For example, in Thailand, the minimum wage in Bangkok, Phuket or other industrialised provinces is around 400 baht per day, while the workers in other areas still earn less than 350 baht per day. Consequently, the difference affects the development in each province, the more the people receive, the faster the local economic growth. Therefore, the development should be equally distributed in all regions. Secondly, Relocation and settling down in unfamiliar places cost job seekers a large sum of financial burden without support from families and friends, which slows down the stability of their lives. For instance, people who relocated need to find a place to rent or buy. With the rise of housing prices and basic goods, the youngsters need to spend more proportion of their income towards basic needs, which results in less savings. In conclusion, the trend of moving to find a job could lead to a larger disparity in economic development and a huge cost for the public, which has more negative effects on the society.