Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

Online communication has become more popular than face-to-face meetings these days. While there are drawbacks to virtual communication, I consider this change outweighs these downsides in terms of expanding networks and flexible appointments. It is true that the shift of communication measures from real-world experience to virtual one causes negative impacts on human relationships. A case in point is a weaker connection between people. Since sharing atmosphere or precise facial expressions in virtual space is challenging, users obtain less information about others and have difficulty understanding personalities. Fewer opportunities to share first-hand experiences also weaken the relationship due to the poor memories they can create on the internet. Hence, there is a risk of a deteriorating sense of connectivity that supports maintaining their mental health. On the other hand, there are many benefits users can enjoy from online communication. Firstly, people can broaden their networks to a degree which is impossible through real-world communication. For example, people can connect with someone who lives in a foreign country because online platforms can connect people regardless of location, which expands their perspectives of culture. Secondly, virtual appointments enable individuals to make schedules more flexible than face-to-face meetings. Sometimes workers face the problems of arranging a meeting due to the few available times participants, which slows down the proceeding of tasks. To sum up, although there are possible risks of weak relationships between people, more advantages, such as expanded networks and flexible schedules, are expected to improve our lives. Therefore, I conclude that this change brings more positive effects.