In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Many people choose to take a gap year after finishing high school to refresh their minds and understand which university study they want to apply to. In this gap, they can travel, study, or do whatever they want. On the one hand, the advantages are that people can use this time for whatever they want. Firstly, during this time, some people can learn new skills, while others can travel or use this time in the right way. It can be a really useful time for them to explore something new or just be sure about which study plan they want to choose for studying in future. Secondly and finally, taking a gap year can make people make a lot of decisions about do they need to go to university because someone can learn and develop their skills at home and start doing something on their own. On the other hand, talking about disadvantages, people can waste that time doing absolutely nothing. Firstly, guys who have a party lifestyle can waste their time partying or simply hanging out with friends. there are plenty of examples of these situations and at the end of this year, people don't know what to do in their lives. Secondly and finally, for some people, taking a gap year, means that they are not studying at all for a whole year. If in the middle of the year, they are sure what they want to study, they don't have an exact study schedule or subjects that they could have at the university. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons of taking a gap year and it always depends on a person's wants.