Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Everyone should be responsible to look after their surroundings to keep the environment neat and clean. Though, some people think that the state should encourage local people to safeguard the environment. Since human activities have a direct impact on nature, I agree that this approach is realistic. Firstly, People are not aware of how their small activities are affecting nature and becoming the biggest problem these days. Due to unawareness, certain individuals have generated numerous environmental problems including littering, and dumping poisonous garbage into rivers and lakes. In addition, some people exploit for commercial purposes, which has drastically bad effects on the quality of the environment. For example, to earn an enormous amount of money, some people cut down trees illegally and which leads to deforestation and negative effects on wildlife species. Due to the significant effects of human activities on the environment outlined above, I am confident that the state can take necessary steps to encourage people to be more accountable for their natural surroundings. The first step is the government should run campaigns often to make people aware of their precious surroundings and their importance in today's and the coming time. They should make aware that land and water are equally important as their home to them. Furthermore, the state should implement the number of strict rules to punish individuals and organizations that do illegal acts such as deforestation, littering and dumping hazardous trash in open spaces. Then, I feel that these steps will make the people educate, and aware of their responsibility towards the environment. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that many people think that the influence of each individual is minimal and negligible, I believe with proper government help, more people will become environment conscious. Gradually, the condition will be improved and individuals will become more nature friendly.