You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 254 words.

It is believed that the high sales of trending goods among buyers are a result of powerful advertisements which is not the authentic demand of the market and society. I absolutely agree with this point of view and I think that the majority of advertisements make people purchase unnecessary items. However, some advertising gives people information about know-how products. First of all production of a new product doesn’t mean that there exists real demand for the product. Artificial demand is created by the Marketing team of any manufacturing company to sell their products. For example. the promotion of the new iPhone 11 shows how many cameras it has a high-quality picture. However, it is not so different from the previous edition of the same iPhone. As a result of this,advertisement millions of people bought new iPhones in order to alter iPhone 10 although it was not required so far. Secondly, people overconsumption of goods because of unreliable advertisements and psychological affect. There are some examples of increasing sales by ‘right’ marketing strategy to change the psychology of humans. For instance sales of Orbit gums doubled after an advertisement on TV where the actor used two gums instead of one. Another example is the usage of toothpaste where the actor used three or even five times more toothpaste than was required. All these examples proved that humans used goods improperly and sales of these goods would fall down in the case of learning. To conclude huge manufacturing companies make humans buy consumer goods which is not necessary to psychological influence and artificial demand.