Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The government, through the minister of culture, can spend literally billions of euros in art while a lot of people are having great and inescapable economic issues. This could provoke angry reactions, it could be inespicable for most of the people. First of all, the more is big the budget of a country, the more is varied. The capability of a state spending in art is obviously conditioned by the social structure, the dimension of the welfare state and also by the quantity of the poor population. For instance, the budget of Italy on arts should be very different in comparison to the same spending index of the United States of America: it is a political choice. Consequently, Italy, as one of the most important country in the art and turism field, must invest more economical effort in order to not loss the capability to attract the international tourists that finance indirectly the italian complex budget. Hence, with the outcome due to our famous museums, through the taxes, we can invest in our welfare state having the aim to have less and less poors living on our soil. In conclusion, we cannot simply react to a complex bugdet with several spending index, as the italian one, simplyifing the entire bureacratic structure of our country. We cannot fall in a populistic rethoric as day-by-day we are exposed, it is not intellectaully fair: we have to knock down and improve our public discussion. Spending in art should not be considered a waste of money while should be issued as an investment throughout improving indirectly the capability of the state to help the lower class.