With the increase in computer use, many people feel that school do not need to put the emphasis that they used to on basic handwriting skills or mathematics skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of technology, use of computer devices has become very common across various age groups and many have argued that this trend has made acquisition of basic handwriting or mathematical skills become less necessary in schools and colleges. In this essay, I will anslyze my reasons for disagreeing with this assertion. To begin, the fact that computers will not be available round the clock due to obvious limiting factors such as technical breakdowns and other unforseen circumstances, is a reality the society should deal with, thereby leaving no stone unturned on ensuring that basic handwriting skills are developed in schools. If one fails to acquire those skills at a young school age, how then will the person communicate in situations where there are no available devices? An example is the unavailability of a computer-based IELTS exam in my preferred test venue: in such case scenario, a well developed handwriting skill will suffice. Furthermore, in the world of work, there is always a possibility of meeting people from diverse backgrounds; some being computer literate while the others are not and it will be highly unprofessional for someone on a career path to fail to function effectively as a result of inadequate handwriting skills in the absence of computer devices: for instance, a teacher may be used to carrying out his or her duties with the use of interactive whiteboards but when faced with the option of using black chalkboards in remote communities, such educators will likely fall short of expectations if they were not well groomed in handwriting. Another unfortunate situation is the failure to do simple calculations in the cause of a person's daily life activities. This is becoming a regular occurrence among young school children because many schools have tolerated the use of computers for elementary calculations when they should have imbibed in such children, effective mathematical skills. To conclude, I strongly disagree that institutions of learning do not need to put emphasis on basic handwriting and mathematical skills because it will limit an individual's scope of practice in career and other self development endeavours.