Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of nation’s history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Ancient buildings are what the nation has to show its history and I completely support their significant importance even though some people claim to demolish them to build new working and living places which could be alternated via other methods. To start with, the initial factor that has to be cited when it comes to the necessity of old buildings would be their contribution to the generations’ knowledge concerning their history. Or, in other words, one can be aware of the particular nation’s history, like what the dwellers did to make living or the political and geographical roles of the areas by just visiting there. The further reason for saving such buildings by certain rules could be connected with their economic vitality. I mean by this that, tourists and scholars are most of the time interested in being in such ancient areas to entertain or elevate their knowledge. They not only enjoy or study there but also leave a certain amount of money which is used either to improve the citizens’ living standards or the national budget. Turning to how housing and working places could be provided, I would suggest a couple of alternative ways. The first one is just to rebuild or reconstruct the existing properties. We can do it by building blocks of flats or skyscrapers, which would take up less space and serve wider needs. The ownerships in city centres can be chosen to do so as the majority live and work there. What is more, the areas located outside of cities like suburbs, because there is plenty of unoccupied room, might be improved in terms of transportation and living conditions which could reduce commuting problems. By doing so, we can save our old equities. In conclusion, we should focus on more important as well as long-term consequences when we talk about destroying old goods for our increasing personal needs.