The gap between the rich and the poor is widening very fast. What are the causes and effects of this widening gap? You may give solutions based on your knowledge and experience.

There is a tendency to divide the world into two categories, the rich and the poor, and this imbalance has been widening quickly. In my opinion, some problems in current tax systems and education curriculums have worsened the situation and these policies should be reconsidered. Firstly, it is obvious that while the rich grow their wealth, the poverty worsens. One main reason for this phenomenon is the current tax systems where business owners have advantages. Income tax is what employees need to pay, whereas investment tax is what employers need to pay. Income tax rate is usually higher than investment tax and this system encourages employers to be wealthier. For example, Warren Buffett, who is a billionaire and an American business investor, pays less tax than his secretary. Secondly, education is essential to achieve a successful career and everyone should have a right to acquire knowledge at school equally. However, the rich tend to go to private schools, where more advanced curriculums and latest facilities are provided, while the poor have no choice but to go to public schools or work. This circumstance leads to an increase in differences among students. For instance, high school is not mandatory in Japan and some students cannot afford to enroll and end up suffering from poor job opportunities. To solve these negative outcomes, tax systems should be rethought and education should be offered regardless of social status. If more taxes were required to be paid by the rich, the government could allocate those extra money into healthcare and education, which the poor need. In conclusion, tax and education systems increase the differences between the rich and the poor, but I believe some revised government policies can help shorten the status gap.