Some feel that individuals should have the right to strike in all jobs while others feel there are exceptions. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that going on a strike is everyone’s right regardless of their career type, others stress that doing so is not possible in some kinds of professions. I agree with the latter view, due to the reasons that will be explained. Some people hold the view that employees have the right to refuse to continue their work to achieve their working rights. They think there are plenty of situations that a worker may suffer while they must be respected according to the law. For example, if an employer does not pay the staff’s salary for working for that company for several months, these employees should have the right to stop the work, as they need to earn money to meet their family’s needs. Although this is a natural reaction, I think this idea does not consider other factors. Nevertheless, there are some occupations in which employees should pay attention to the dangerous consequences of their possible strikes. For instance, if the personnel working in a hospital emergency department avoid curing their patients because of dissatisfaction at work, such workers will play with the lives of innocent patients. Another example is firemen who are obliged to do their tasks without any hesitation or thinking about a strike. The people who have crucial working positions should express their complaints in other ways such as negotiating with responsible managers, or even following the legal procedures to reach their rights. To conclude, it is true that striking is one of the ways of getting working rights; despite this, there are particular jobs that their employees should be aware of the results of their strike. In my opinion, people working in such vital professions should consider other ways to take their rights.