Popular events like the Football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tension and safely releasing patriotic emotions.

People debate if international sports competitions could have a positive or negative impact on the tension between two countries and their inhabitants. I strongly disagree with the statement that sports events represent a good way to manage international tensions and release extreme patriotic feelings. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs. Firstly, during international sports events such as the world cups or Olympics the rivalry between two states or groups of people can scale to a major proportion. Indeed, depending on the political situation, a simple match may lead to a "war" within a sports scenario. For instance, the football match between Argentina and England during the World Cup of Mexico 1986 is a good example. A few years before the game, Argentina and England were at a war context for the territory of Maldives islands, during that period thousand of Argentinians died as a consequence of the war. For this reason, among Argentinian players and fans, revenge was a common feeling in the Azteca Stadium. This example demonstrates how the political issues between two states can be exhibited in a sports competition. Secondly, international tensions can affect not only the competitions but also the possibility of athletics participating in sportive events, enhancing the social issues among people from different countries. Despite the sport should be beyond international relationships, sometimes the tension between the two nations does not possible that athletes from some countries can to compete. For example, the attacks of Russia on Ukraine have restricted the participation of Russians in several disciplines. Further, if they are able to compete, they can not use the colours of their country. In summary, although international sports events can be seen as sports parties, I totally believe that these competitions could increase the rivalry between nations as well as enhance extreme nationalist emotions.