By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? You should write at least 250 words. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

When people commit a felony, a judge decides their fate depending on the crime they committed. Some people believe that the death penalty is the right way to reprehend murderers. Although this could create a society that is also guilty of committing murder. In this essay, I will talk about why I disagree with the statement and the negative side of the death penalty in today’s society. Firstly, and more importantly, any life should not be taken for another human being. Despite the fact that a murderer had chosen to end someone else's existence, society should not take the burden of finishing a guilty one. In addition to that, it could even be better than a prisoner could live so he or she can reflect on their past decisions as well as give important information that could bring closure to the victims' families. For instance, people should not agree on something they do not accept for themselves. Secondly, there are sometimes no assurances that the culprit is in fact the murderer, and sending them to prison would provide the time to find out whether it was the right person. Hence, an innocent can be blamed for a crime he or she didn’t commit. Through the sentence new information can add up to the case and make sure the person caught was fully responsible. For example, is that in the USA there have been some cases when after the deathly injection or other deathly penalties new information gets leaked and shows that the “criminal” wasn’t the one who did it. Therefore, society assassinated an innocent. To conclude, death should not be used as a weapon to punish someone. There are different ways that a human can pay for their crimes and can be even more effective. Moreover, if there is no one hundred per cent assurance that an individual was in fact the one who did it, we as a society ought not to take the risk.