Once children enter school, teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social developments than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Schools are befittingly called children's "second home", as they spend a good proportion of their time there once they reach the schooling age. The fact that they are constantly surrounded by teachers during this period of time has sparked some deliberation upon whether tutors influence a child's intellectual and social development more than their parents after entering the education system. I disagree with this. While teachers play an indispensable role in a child's edification, parents ' guidance is instrumental to their personal growth too. To begin with, during school hours, a child's progress is a teacher's responsibility. Teachers teaching a particular subject often hold more expertise than the parents in that area of study and are thus able to guide a child better in picking up specific complex concepts. Furthermore, they may encourage a child to participate in academic competitions to boost their intellectual calibre through competitive experiences at school. Educational institutes also establish a foundation in the child by inculcating good values in them. For instance, many schools in Singapore have a "life-skills" class, where students are equipped with important lessons on life skills, etiquette, and good manners. In fact, many students have grown up on the commonly reinforced value " sharing is caring". Altogether, these work on enhancing a child's social and intellectual development better than at home sometimes. However, teachers can't be fully credited for augmenting a youngster's intelligence and disposition because overall, parents are around their child for a longer duration and guide their child in a more well-rounded manner. Firstly, a child may learn good habits in theory from school but mostly picks up its practical usage by observing how their elders display those manners. To cite an example, a child may know in theory that a favour is to be returned with a "thank you", but some parents would usually prompt their child to thank people in other apt situations such as after receiving compliments, allowing the child to fully understand when to use the phrase. On the other hand, smartness doesn't only concern the academic potential of an individual. Instead, it comprises both educational excellence and what many call "street-smartness", which is the way one conducts themselves amidst various situations in public. Parents are able to guide their children better in this regard. Lastly, since parents know their offspring better, they are able to tailor their mode of teaching to make certain that the child is absorbing the learnings well. In conclusion, while teachers do impact the social and intellectual development of a child greatly, parents equally play a role in doing so. Thus I disagree that they can have a higher influence on a child than the parents.