Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoos can help protect the rare animals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In this day and age, several species of animals are kept inside zoos all around the world. While many people argue that these facilities can help preserve endangered species, other believe that zoos are malicious and should be closed. In the following essay, I am going to discuss both sides of the argument and state my own opinion. On one hand, animals which are held captive in wildlife parks cannot develop properly. This is because they are kept in an encaged environment against their will, which restricts their movements, along with the lack of a suitable natural habitat to thrive and hone their primal skills such as hunting. Taking a carnivore such as lions as an example, after a long period of time of being kept inside a zoological garden, their hunting skills will become dull, since they do not need to catch any prey, as well as their living quarters are tiny compared to the forest in which they originate from. On the other hand, many wildlife parks are competent in preserving exotic life forms which are close to the verge of extinction. Simply put, animals which are gradually decreasing in number can be put in zoological gardens so that they can be strictly supervised by humans to prevent them from dying out. This can be done by carefully learning about their diet and habits, as well as providing them with an environment that imitates their natural habitats. For example, the Chinese government is spending a huge effort in protecting pandas, by providing them with special care and nutritious meals, while also intervening to help them reproduce. In conclusion, although there are numerous zoos that only keep animals for profit, other wildlife parks can serve as a place to protect exotic life forms by providing them with special treatment and ideal environments. In my opinion, though there are a lot of adversaries, zoological gardens should remain open to protect endangered species.