Some people think the advertisement has positive economic effects, while others think it has social impacts because individuals are not satisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Looking at the world it is clear that we are flooded with countless commercials every day. But it is a dilemma whether they bring more harm than good. My perspective is that television ads are useful in general. TV commercials can positively contribute to the economy in many ways. For enterprises, successful advertisements not only boost sales but also develop brand awareness, loyalty, and preference. For instance, many people were amazed by the presentations made by Steve Jobs. And as a result of Steve's success, Apple is one of the most valuable companies nowadays. Likewise, for the whole society, appropriate promotions make the local economy more prosperous. The reason behind this is that more consumers are keen on shopping after watching advertisements, which means that more job opportunities must be created by firms to meet the demand. Hence, this is a win-win situation for everybody. Those who harbour the view that TV ads may have a negative influence on the public may argue that adverts compel people to compete in a material way. Indeed, it is not uncommon to see that many citizens especially teenagers impulsively purchase goods and services that are beyond their purchasing power after watching misleading TV commercials. Nevertheless, the government could shoulder the responsibility and introduce more restrictive laws to prevent misrepresented marketing information, which seems like a reasonable compromise. In conclusion, while advertisements could benefit society, they can also make us become superficial shopaholics. As a consequence, companies should promote marketing materials only if they are informative and reliable. Only by doing so can we have a better shopping atmosphere.