Some people believe citizens should be allowed to carry handguns in order to protect themthelves, while others think this can lead to many social security problems in the society. What is your opinion? Use specific rsasons to support your answer.

Some people have argued that carrying handguns should be allowed as a form of self-defence measure while others think it can only lead to many societal security problems; in my opinion, however, I believe this will not be a safe practice in the community as it will endanger more lives than it would save. I will illustrate this view better as I continue. Firstly, humans are known as emotional beings and this means that sometimes, people tend to behave irrationally because they are beclouded by their emotions; though some of such behaviours are mostly regretted in the long run but cannot be reversed. Therefore, legalizing the handling of handguns by every adult will result in lots of avoidable deaths which will likely occur regularly due to a lack of self-control. An example is a fight I witnessed along a street one sunny afternoon, an ugly incident that I considered very unnecessary due to the trivial nature of its cause. It began with verbal insults and in a few minutes, the parties involved started punching each other it ended on a sad note when one of those involved picked a relatively huge stone and struck his opponent's head with it. The wounded person fainted and the way the guilty fellow wept afterwards in deep regret made me speechless. This is the likely kind of regrettable action that society will record frequently if the use of handguns is approved for every adult and the unfortunate aspect is that victims may not survive it because one wounded with a stone or other harmful objects has more survival chances than one shot with a gun. In addition, there will be greater chances of minors handling guns because parents may drop the bags and guns carelessly due to inexperience thereby resulting in more terrible damage. Overall, the negative implications of allowing adults to carry handguns will outweigh whatever benefits of protection it may give.