People who travel to another country to live, work or study for a period of time often suffer badly from homesickness. Why is it? What are the best ways to reduce this problem?

Becoming homesick is one of the major concerns of those who would want to go abroad for living, work or continue their further studies. There are some compelling reasons why this is happening; however, given appropriate measures are adopted, it will be reduced to a great extent. Turning to reasons, there are two main ones which will lead to becoming homesick. Firstly, since these people have no family by their side, they have no support for them when they leave their home country. This means whenever they feel lonely, there is no one to rely on and open up face to face. Another significant factor is the culture shock that they suffer from. Take an Indian worker who has migrated to the US recently, for instance, he should be able to communicate properly with a variety of people having different cultures and also speaking another language. This situation exacerbates when they have low self-esteem and weak interpersonal skills, resulting in fewer people around them to spend time with. This problem will be dealt with only if these people take a few actions. In order to find a way to have support, they can possibly try making new friends so that they will be able to keep in touch with them once in a while and exchange some news. This in turn will assist them to alleviate the sense of loneliness they suffer. Moreover, by using online platforms such as WhatsApp, Instagram or Google Meet, they can easily manage to call their loved ones on a regular basis. By doing this, their self-esteem will be improved and chances are higher for them to succeed in their academic or working life. To conclude, although it is true that homesickness has some troubling effects on people, it still could be manageable if they socialise with new people and contact their families oftentimes.