After finishing school some student go travelling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think the advantages of gap years outweigh the disadvantages ?

Travelling or working for a lapse of time before starting higher education is common among students after finishing school. Certainly, a gap year has its benefits as well as its drawbacks. To begin with, having some free season off post-school allows the students to reset their mindset, gain some experience, earn some money and have a clear idea of what career they would like to pursue in university. When teenagers graduate from high school, most of them are too young to understand the labour market. Namely, volunteering participation in a hospital or holding a part-time position in a retail store to name a few examples, could provide some understanding of how things work in a specific industry. However, the new graduates should establish a deadline for those practices and not prolong this stage of college for too long. On the other side, the fact of getting immersed in the workforce and starting to generate an income could get the apprentices accustomed to the money which could result in abandoning the possibility of obtaining a degree. For example, an ex-student working in a bank could suddenly receive a full-time offer due to his performance which could lead to giving up his studies in order to accept the offer. In my opinion, obtaining some background and earnings prior to starting college could threaten the possibility of returning to school and obtaining a degree that allows them to get better opportunities in the future. To sum up, getting job training during a gap year could provide the students with more knowledge about what field should they pursue at university, and earning some money could also support the same goal. However, they should be aware of when is the right moment to resume their academic endeavours otherwise the possibility of relinquishing their education is at risk. In this,case the disadvantages would outweigh the advantages.