In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that with the boom of society, advertising is becoming increasingly prevalent at an amazing rate. Nowadays tend to place an emphasis on the novelty of their products in various ways. There are various reasons and from my perspective view, it has a negative impact on human lives. There is a wide range of reasons why business companies focus on the novelty of their comedies. The primary reason is that new features of products are more likely to catch people's eyes since they can evoke audiences' curiosity to explore more about them. For example, an advertisement demonstrating the new design of a self-driving car might attract customers due to its creativity which is unusual in daily life and thus can boost the sales of this product. Subsequently, new features are probably regarded as the future trend by their audience and thus engage in customers who want to follow the trend. For instance, kids and teenagers, who can be easily influenced by advertisements, will choose to buy some of the useless but creative toys in order to catch up with the latest trend. Therefore, this advertising style can be considerably beneficial to the company. Personally, I consider these attractive advertisements to have significantly negative impacts on individuals. Firstly, their ways of advertising possibly influence customers' attitudes towards products and thus lead them to buy some unnecessary products. For example, females, who are the major consumers of some cosmetics products, can be easily engaged in new lipsticks and skincare products and thus purchase various useless products. Secondly, these advertisements will also add extra stress and domestic conflicts to some families. To take an example, children seeing the advertisements of some toys will ask their parents to purchase them, which influences the relationship between family members. In conclusion, although advertising in this way can bring a great deal of benefits to companies, I remain unwavering in my conviction.