n the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argue that it will be unnecessary to purchase any printed newspaper or book as the advanced technology will enable people to read whatever they like online free of charge. I partly agree with this view. Online reading will provide good opportunities for people to read whenever and whatever they like. Firstly, online reading allows people to take full advantage of fragmented time. Take me for an example. As a book worm, I can utilize the mobile phone to read novels and classics when I have free time, even merely five minutes. And just clicking the headline of the news will brought the latest news. Also, the popularization of electronic device, especially cellphones, lays a physical foundation for people to read online. As a result, printed newspapers and books are redundant for people. However, the old who know little of the Internet will prefer to substitute newspapers on a daily basis and buy some printed books. Firstly, lack of knowledge relevant to online reading makes it difficult for them to enjoy reading as convenient as the young. Secondly, suffering from eyesight problems, old people are reluctant to be exposed to the strong screen light, which is a stress to their eyes. Therefore, printed newspapers and books are the optimal choice for the old to read. Generally speaking, in the future, online reading will become increasingly convenient that most people will rely on the Internet to read, but some old people will insist to purchase printed ones due to poor command of online reading and worry about eyesight deterioration. I believe that not all the people will abandon paper publications.