Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What effects will this have on society?

It has been observed that numerous lawbreakers perform several unlawful practices after being free from jail. This essay will discuss some of the causes behind this disturbing trend and will examine the possible consequences of the same. There are myriad causes for criminals to perform crimes after being released from prison. The primary reason for this is their surroundings and environment in jail. It is an irrefutable fact that a person becomes what they see day and night. There is a famous expression, “It takes 21 days to build a habit.” Hence, the atmosphere around them during their prison time forces criminals to do other unlawful actions when they are released. In addition to this easy money can also be considered as one of the important reasons for this. What I mean by this is that our brain is wired to earn money through shortcuts, which criminals won’t get if they start studying how to get a legal job. They only have to kill one person and they can earn millions, which is a dream package for a salaried person looking for a legal job. For example, in 2018, as per the Indian crime report, what a legal professional earns in 12 months, a criminal earns more than that in just 3 months. Hence, the ease of money does not allow them to have a second thoughts, and they keep continuing their crimes. The effects have been and will continue to be very serious. The most obvious impact of this is that law and order will not be taken seriously. It is obvious that if criminals are not stopping their bad practices after coming out of prison, the value of jail and the police will start to diminish in the eyes of the public. This mindset of society will also foster a number of crimes. Another possible effect of this is an increase in women's unemployment. It is undeniably true that, if crimes done by criminals after coming out of jail are not stopped fear will increase in society. This fear will force narrow-minded communities to stop their daughters to go outside and work. For example, in 2008, in India, parents did not allow their daughters to work for one year of the infamous Mumbai bomb blasts. To conclude, people whom criminals meet in jail and easy earning money clearly stand out as the primary reasons to commit unlawful practices after getting out of jail. The consequences of it which happen to be fading value of law and police officials and fear in society should be carefully considered and watchfully monitored for its ill effects to be kept under check.