You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A fraction of the population believes that past life has nothing to do with the current situation in the world and holds no importance when it comes to making decisions for the future. However, I firmly believe that history has always been an integral part of many cultures and at times has strongly influenced the future of many societies. Some people claim that reading history is a waste of time as this is something that has already occurred and cannot be changed. For instance, a few students do not choose it as a subject in their studies because it is lots of unnecessary information with no logical explanation. Moreover, they believe that the fate of nations can only be altered by present decisions made by politicians and governments. In contrast, evidence suggests that historical books mention various incidents and teachings that can prevent us from making the same mistakes as we did formerly. For instance, various countries decide their political agendas based on the blunders made by their ancestors. In addition, we also learn how different civilizations flourished, which not only describes the practices of different communities but also sets subsequent standards for us. In conclusion, I agree that there is a huge contrast between the mindsets and lifestyles of modern-age human beings and folks of preceding eras. But I strongly recommend integrating history as one of the learning sources in present times to have a better outlook on upcoming events.