Some people think that in order to prevent people from disease and illness, governments should reduce environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

More and more humans these days are suffering from various diseases and illnesses. Some might believe that in order to stop this from happening, governments need to instigate some measures to cure pollution and housing issues. Although these problems should not be underestimated, I believe there are other significant factors with regard to the prevention of health issues. Turning to the alleviation of pollution and housing problems, a number of approaches can be considered by governments in order for the problem to be solved. Firstly, they can encourage the public, allocating public transport so as to decrease the carbon footprint produced by exhaust fumes. This in turn will lead to higher air quality which people can breathe in thus helping them to have healthier lungs. Secondly, there could be some plans for building more residential dwellings in the immediate vicinity of industrial areas where the populace can easily commute to their workplaces riding a bicycle or going on foot. By doing these, chances are higher for people to benefit from better physical health. However, the other contributing factors should be better taken into account so as to solve this problem. Since having a well-balanced diet can serve as a catalyst for suffering from many chronic diseases, such as diabetes, high blood pressure and high blood cholesterol, families should be motivated to opt for consuming healthier foods. One way to do this is by laying higher taxes on junk foods and drinks, such as soda so that families could be more inclined toward buying more nutritious food, vegetables, and fruits for instance. Another positive approach for tackling this could be the amount of time the public spend on their physical health bar doing regular exercise. This means the more people have time to participate in fitness programs or even go for a brisk walk, the less likely they will become ill. To conclude, while governments are able to play a major role in controlling environmental and societal challenges, in order to help the prevention of many diseases, I maintain that residents in the community can also have a positive impact on this by maintaining a rich diet and exercising on a regular basis.