Transport delays are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

Public transportation systems around the world are deficient and unreliable nowadays. In this,essay we will discuss what could be the possible reasons behind the problem and how it can be solved. Firstly,it is important to mention that most of the rails and train nets in the main cities are considerably old. These structures were built hundreds of years ago. For example, the New York Subway and London Underground are among the most antique and well-connected transportation systems worldwide, however, they are also listed at the top of the ones with more delays. In these both specific cases, most of the delays respond exclusively to maintenance issues because of the age of the vehicle. Every day wagons are detoured or stopped due to malfunctioning which results in a massive retard and snowball effect in all the running lines. Therefore, a broken-down system that requires constant reparations must be the culprit of all this disruption. On the other hand, investing in renewing the transportation system structures must be the solution to all these inconveniences. For instance, if we compare Barcelona´s subway with other European metros we can notice that the principal difference resides in the years that they were built. The former city counts with a modern and recently renewed system in contrast with the other cities. Hence, purchasing brand-new carriages and replacing rails could be the way to alleviate the problem. After a thorough analysis, we can conclude that the primary motive for which some transports around the world are constantly late is due to repair issues required since most of them are old and need to be replaced. Authorities must designate money to renovate them in order to turn them more efficient.