One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world today, is facing a major challenge because of the lack of food. People around the world, are coming up with new ways to tackle this problem, by modifying the chemical structure of food. In my opinion, I believe that eating an artificial meals will cause many health problems, therefore other solutions could resolve this issue. Many chronic health problems that individuals face today are caused by an unhealthy diet. Unfortunately, our poor choices do not go unnoticed by our bodies, instead it is greatly affected. For instance, Individuals who eat a lot of fatty foods are prone to cholesterol and diabetes; the pancreas secrets insulin to our kidneys at certain levels, however when we intake high levels of sugar the pancreas is covered with fats and is unable to carry out its function. Thus, diabetic people have to inject insulin into their bodies to maintain their sugar levels. On the other hand, governments can fund farmers to encourage the growth of agriculture, with more land available for crops to grow. Indeed, not only will this will help to provide new job opportunities, but it will also ensure a healthier future. A recent study by Harvard University stated that areas, where locals are more likely to feed off their crops, have shown excellent results; almost none are suffering from any well-being disorders. In addition, our mental health is very much affected by our physical health, people who eat more junk food are more likely to suffer emotional-eating disorders. In conclusion, our bodies are greatly affected by the food we supplement them with, therefore I believe it is very important to be extra cautious of what you feed them.