Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? And What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, preferences for people regarding jobs have changed. Today, more people are opting to be self-employed rather than joining jobs in any organisation. There are a number of reasons for this change and there are also drawbacks of being an entrepreneur. Being self-employed provides independence to the owner. This is because a person can focus on creativity and innovative ideas rather than completing the pre-assigned tasks which happen in jobs. Furthermore, this provides confidence in the owner and more focus on developing new ideas to impress the investors or clients. For example, as per the Forbes 2024 report, 70% of patents in the field of technology were submitted by an entrepreneur and only 30% by big or established organisations. Therefore, people get more work satisfaction in their own businesses. Whereas, businesses also have the drawback of failure risk. This is because start-ups have a limited reputation in the market, therefore lack of credibility among interested buyers. Additionally, there is a lot of competition among these small upcoming start-ups and a lack of clients might also lead to financial losses. For instance, the global market reported that 30% of small-scale finance-based companies were shut down in New York in the year 2023 due to bankruptcy. So, every entrepreneur has to assess benefit-risk prior to making projects. In conclusion, although business owners have the freedom to work on their projects and focus on their interests, there would also be a risk of failure involved. Therefore planning each step in small or start-up businesses with a keen eye on the trends is very important.