Some people think that art is essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

One of the controversial topics relates to whether art should be taught at school as a compulsory subject or not. Some believe teaching art to students is of great importance while others oppose that it is wasteful of time. In this essay, I am going to shed a light on this question from both viewpoints and then give my own opinion on the matter. On the one hand, there are folks advocating the implementation of art as a subject at school. They believe that art is the translation of a student's emotion on paper; as a result, it significantly boosts mental development such as imagination or creativity. It is possible to say that art is a meaningful and effective medium for conveying students ' thinking. For example, many kids, on special occasions, make the cards by themselves as gifts to show their gratitude and respect to the caregivers. Hence, it is clearly seen why this point of view is supported. On the other hand, myriad people have a sense of futility if art is included in the school curriculum. Those in support of this notion worry about the job prospects of their offspring. Obviously, this subject adds a burden to students when they already have a hectic schedule at school. Investing time into other periods, namely science, languages or maths is more realistic for a future career as jobs in these fields are available in abundance. For instance, after graduation, learners whose majors are accounting or banking find it not too hard to be recruited by the banks. In the meanwhile, artists struggle for years or decades to get decent jobs. Therefore, this is why this opinion has gained strong support. To conclude, both sides have their own reasonable opinions. However, I side with the latter one on the belief that the future of the students is more important so art can be added to the school curriculum as an optional subject for those who are really interested in it.